British Council Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 632 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviroment
Technician/Handyman (Current Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur4 April 2019
Good place and healthy lifestyle.
Learn new thing about education society.
Interact with various people across the world.
Chance to improve my English by working here.
Pros
Shirt Allowance, AIA medical card, Overtime
Cons
Short of storage for every department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic
Programme Coordinator [Contract] (Former Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur25 March 2018
Professionalism at its best.
Professionals with good teamwork.
Highly flexible and task oriented environment.
Engaging working environment with good career growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Malaysia18 March 2018
A brand and a market leader, carries a lot of prestige. I’m privileged to be a part of this organization. However, I wish they take employee welfare seriously.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Sight
Teacher Trainer (Former Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur28 January 2018
A typical day consisted of teaching, alot of driving and admin tasks. I learned that some companies look really good on paper. Management focused on rolling out projects without concern for their staff or target audience. The hardest part of the job was completing manager tasks as well as your own. The easiest was the end of the day.
Pros
Ability to travel
Cons
Poor management and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely serious§strict workplace to the point you suffocate
Teacher (Former Employee) –  kuala lumpur14 December 2017
I worked at BC KL for a couple of years and their standards are higher than any school I worked in before. They value professional development and in order to be selected to do any Cambridge course you need to be selected by an internal trainer. I noticed that management has a preferential number of people they like working with. The local staff is quite rigid with their rules and the HR team is far from being helpful.
Pros
INSETTs
Cons
lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense working atmosphere
Part Time Examination Invigilator (Former Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur13 June 2017
I was exposed to working with different nationalities and working under pressure as well and as such my people skills were improved as I dealt with different people everyday. The job I did needed patience, commitment, understanding and meticulousness which I was never found wanting. My job also entailed confidentiality as we dealt with examinations and results of many people which included at times travelling to out of Johannesburg examination centres and extra caution was expected in securing those examination papers.
Pros
Shouldering huge responsibility of securing examination papers
Cons
Working very long hours at times until at night
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaning full jobs scope
Event crew (Former Employee) –  KLCC10 November 2015
learnt extra knowledge from colleagues as well as experiencing differ study pattern or cultures from the attended guest from UK.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Coordinator - Pro-ELT Project (Penang) (Current Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur, M148 January 2015
The people have been wonderful, the tasks exciting, the travel a little exhausting, but, all in all, a great year so far.
(1) Travel to see trainers in their venues
(2) Meet with Min of Ed. personnel
(3) Understanding the system of education
(4) Dealing with the KL central office
(5) Coping with personnel issues
(6) Solving problems on the fly
(7) Getting lost in the plantations
(8) The food!
I would highly recommend this project as a way to get to know Malaysia, in a way you could never do as a tourist.
Pros
Great people.
Cons
A little too much exhausting travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

See more British Council reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 632 reviews
5318
4192
388
222
112

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

British Council Reviews by Location